Nigeria National Museum

In 1953, the Antiquities Ordinance, which gave birth to the Federal Department of Antiquities, was promulgated leading to the establishment of museums in Esie (1952), Jos (1952), Ife (1954), Lagos (1957), Owo (1958) Benin, and Oron (1960). After the Nigerian Civil War, the Federal Government is quest lasting unity, peace and integration, conceived the policy of establishing a Museum of National Unity in each of the states of the federation to serve as instruments of cultural education through which peace and understanding among Nigerians would be achieved.

Related posts